Craig Eisele on …..

November 17, 2012

A Diatribe That Started As A Simple Letter to a Wonderful Woman

Filed under: Uncategorized — Mr. Craig @ 11:32 pm

Best line of the day I heard on a show called Melissa Harris-Perry… “Just cause we skin don’t mean we kin”   She hosts a weekend show on politics and social issues and is a professor during the week… intelligent insightful, humorous woman…. today was a lot about the GOP and racial diversity and sensitivity and cultural issues..

from the Subtle racism like Paul Ryan’s “Dog Whistle” comment about losing the “urban” (aka black) Vote to the chairman of the GOP in Maine saying there had to be voter fraud because a few dozen black people showed up in rural Maine and nobody knew who they were …  but he is not a racist because he plays basketball with a black man on Sundays… and how can we forget all the insinuations from the Romney campaign advertising along with the subliminal messaging that were blatant attempts art racial profiling  for white voters to feel outraged… and he is still in denial on why he lost…. 

And let me not forget her great letter to Bobby Jindal… here is the link and it is absolutely great the way she wrote to him. http://tv.msnbc.com/2012/11/17/jindal-should-worry-less-about-stupid-gop-more-about-louisiana/

Look..  some of you know my ethnicity.. and you know my position on things… I live what I say in that area… but I am still stunned that in 2012 the amount of racists and bigots there are who do not even know they are racists or bigots… and while this Maine guy’s comment is laughable.. it is actually sad… 

I have told you in the past that I often intimidate people when I go into a room.. first my size.. think Hulk Hogan without the beard and the hair… second is my voice … so  not only do I carry myself well I have a south Philly strut (my home town) … which was the ORIGINAL SWAGGER… LMAO…  it is how we walked that made us bad back then… If I lay into someone with anger and ferocity  do not have to get physical as most people back off after a false bravado of a few seconds…  but I admit there are some that just want to take the biggest guy on… and those are mostly punks… or have a weapon they think makes them tough…. 

I am not sure I ever told you the first time my life was actually threatened for real.. I was dancing with this woman… remember I told you I can dance.. anyway her man was not into dancing… so we were just having fun… I guess we were having too much fun because he came over and started a fight… I was not into fighting… and she was trying to pull him back.. but although I was not into a fight I would NOT back down…. he pulled out a knife and held it to my throat telling me he was going to kill me ..

This was just after my father had beaten me and told me there was one reason to fight and one reason only.. and when I told him “Yea, to win” he smacked me down to the floor.. and said ” NO. TO KILL!!”  basically he then said that If I did not kill the person  I was fighting I would end up fighting them again .. and if I did fight that person and killed them then I needed to be ready to serve the time. This was after I had baseball bats slammed on both my eyes, a knife wound to the belly and a lead pipe in the mouth… so I was well versed in the fighting  and wining and losing…   but never did fight again.. see I began to believe that a REAL MAN is not one that has to prove his physical strength or that he is a better fighter to  be a REAL MAN.. he has to be true to himself and his values.

Anyway… they guy backed down as a crowd started to form around us and he said he would get me later… he never did.. and I never saw that woman again.. but it was how and where I grew up…

Yet in all the time there…. I MAY HAVE heard ethnic slurs… but never was there  time I can remember when they were used at people directly…. and for some reason (meaning the type of men my father was) my father never reinforced them in our home or anywhere else ….. although it was quite common back them in our neighborhood to divide racially… while many took it to mean that others were  bad…. I was more curious as to learn more…. hence I never saw ethnic identity as something that made people different only more interesting…  

Even now when I meet someone say from Korea.. I talk about the things I love about their culture…. like the historical docudrama that may have 150-250 hour-long episodes… I really do like them for the morals and values they espouse… I don’t treat people from other cultures with any contempt or indifference or  insult them or even ignore them…. especially here where the isolation can be greater than most places. I find common ground immediately and strike a conversation and you can see in their eyes they are pleased that someone can respect who they are and what their heritage is. 

Take someone from Iran…. they speak Farsi (PERSIAN)…. not Arabic ….  or the philosophical differences in different forms of Islam which are Sunni and Shiite …. or that is not the Koran but the HOLY KORAN  it is the HOLY part that most Muslims never hear from other people and when a non Muslim says it they are very happy and pleased inside to hear that word… Ironically and for Christians it is either the bible or the Holy Bible as most Christians don’t mind just saying  just the Bible so they don’t understand the  significance for a Muslim on this regard.

Yet in all the time there.. I heard ethnic slurs… but never was there when they were used.. and for some reason my father never reinforced them in our home although it was quite common back them to divide racially… hence I never saw ethnic identity as something that made people different only more interesting…  even now when I meet someone say from Korea.. I talk about the things I love about their culture.. like the historical docudramas that may have 150-250 hour-long episodes…

I really do like them for the morals and values they espouse… I don’t treat people from other cultures with any contempt or indifference or  insult them or even ignore them…. especially here where the isolation can be greater than most places. I find common ground immediately and strike a conversation and you can see in their eyes they are pleased that someone can respect who they are and what their heritage is. 

Take someone from Iran.. they speak PERSIAN.. not Arabic ..  or the philosophical differences in different forms of Islam which are  Sunni and Shiite or that is not the Koran but the HOLY KORAN  it is the HOLY part that most Muslims never hear from other people  and when a non Muslim says it they are very happy and pleased inside to hear that word… and for  Christians it is either the bible or the Holy Bible as most Christians don’t mind just saying the Bible so they don’t understand the  significance for a Muslim on this regard. 

For Heavens sake ROMNEY who wanted to be PRESIDENT of the United States  said that Palestine did not want peace and did not know that Syria was NOT  sharing a border with Iran and that BOTH of those countries have their own sea ports on different  bodies of water.

Have we been watching television stations (think FOX)  in the USA that are shrinking our brains when simple geography  is such a mess in our understanding… that our knowledge  is s limited from our LEADERS… it is chilling to think that that man came so close to being in charge of this country .. almost as much as Sahara Palin  being a heartbeat away from being President if John McCain had WON.  ..  there really is a dumbing down of America and it is frightening. 

About a year ago I was making a comment how  the term “Bitches” was wrong..  first because I had  5 daughters… but also because I really do believe that it is wrong…. I saw things that made me angry when the slang for exceptionally beautiful for a woman was to call her dumb beautiful… which of course made me thing of the stereotype of dumb blonds and woman being inferior.. I don’t know how a woman can raise up in this world if she lets people put her down in those terms even if they are supposedly socially acceptable…

Maybe I am too old school.. maybe I find that respecting a woman and  still keeping her equal in all things.. and still be able to be chivalrous  is too out of date and not in keeping with the hip culture of today… but you know what… if that is what is hip and cool today.. if that is the way of  today.. then I am proud to stand out… I am proud to be different in that way and being my own man ..

I show respect to all people no matter what their skin color is.. what race they are.. what their ethnic culture is, what gender they are, what sexual orientation they have… what religion they practice or do not practice…. or if they are short, tall, skinny, or round…..  blond brunet redhead or silver haired… EVERYONE deserves to be respected from the get go… until they lose that respect by their own actions… 

Bigotry comes in all forms.. straight out in your face… and subtle.. sometimes it is intentional.. sometimes it is not…  we can try to change attitudes but if people are not willing to admit they hold these biases that are actually stereotypes that show a deeper bigotry inside of them .. then we can never get over them as a nation.. I hear white folks today complaining about they may be a minority sooner rather than later and it has them scared.. but WHY or even HOW would it be scary if they were not bigoted or racists in some way…  

WE ONLY FEAR THE UNKNOWN… if we took the time to LEARN about other races and cultures and not only accept them but even try to embrace them or at least legitimize them in this, wouldn’t it then be the rise of equality where EVERYONE in this country is a minority would  be a wonderful thing like the colors of a rainbow.. and not feared or worse loathed…. 

For those who read this  who do not know me… an FYI.. I am a Caucasian male and a registered republican since I was 18 years old, I have been involved in multi-racial relationships for most of my adult life and all of my 5 daughters are/were mixed culturally and racially… and I was raised a catholic and am still a christian… so if you read this and though differently then you know you have a  streak of what I have been talking about.

The world is a wonderful place if we let it be that way.. don’t run away from the unknown….. embrace it and learn from it.. I promise you it will not kill you and you will be a better person or the learning experience…

And for the woman I was originally writing this to….  a woman I respect and admire and would like to know so much better …. well just know kiddo that  I am just trying to tell you that you are special and unique and that I see potential in you BECAUSE of who you are… and that kiddo means the world to me… and it should for you as well. 

BEST FACEBOOK Pic of the weekend so far is the following:

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

